State Canvassing Board Certifies Results of the 2024 Presidential Primary

Published On: March 13th, 20242.1 min readCategories: Local News, News
Election Certification MN

Photo (left to right): David Maeda, Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Director of Elections; Justice Margaret H. Chutich, Minnesota Supreme Court; Justice G. Barry Anderson, Minnesota Supreme Court; Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon; Judge Laura Nelson, Second Judicial District Court; Judge Reynaldo A. Aligada, Jr., Second Judicial District Court.

Official results show 585,991 Minnesotans voted on March 5, 2024

SAINT PAUL – On March 12, 2024, Secretary of State Steve Simon convened the State Canvassing Board to review the canvass report for the 2024 Presidential Primary and certify the results.

“The first of three statewide elections in 2024 is now complete,” said Secretary Simon“Minnesota voters have made it clear who they want their political parties to nominate for the November ballot.”

In the 2024 presidential nomination primary, 585,991 Minnesotans cast ballots, which is 13.6% of the eligible voting population. This is a decrease from the 2020 presidential nomination primary in which 885,920 Minnesotans cast ballots, or 21.5% of the eligible voting population.

Before 2020, major political parties nominated presidential candidates at party caucuses with the exception of 1992, 1956, 1952, and 1916.

“Primary voter turnout can depend on many personal and political factors,” said Secretary Simon. “I expect Minnesotans will continue to lead the nation in voter turnout this November, just as we did in the last presidential election – in Minnesota, we vote.” 

A total of 104,592 voters cast an absentee or mail-in ballot in the 2024 presidential primary, which is 17.8% of the total votes cast. In 2020, 145,621 voters cast an absentee or mail-in ballot in the presidential primary, which is 16.4% of the total votes cast.

View the 2024 Presidential Primary Election Results.

About the State Canvassing Board

The State Canvassing Board is called pursuant to Article VII, Section 8 of the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, which states, “The returns of every election for officeholders elected statewide shall be made to the secretary of state who shall call to his assistance two or more of the judges of the supreme court and two disinterested judges of the district courts. They shall constitute a board of canvassers to canvass the returns and declare the result within three days after the canvass.”

Secretary of State Simon extended his thanks to the Justices and Judges who agreed to serve on this canvassing board to certify the election results: G. Barry Anderson, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; Margaret H. Chutich, Associate Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court; Laura Nelson, Judge, Second Judicial District Court; Reynaldo A. Aligada, Jr., Judge, Second Judicial District Court.



Share This Story!